Athens DUI Defense Attorney
Need Help Beating a DUI Charge? Call (706) 705-5122 Today!
Are you facing a DUI charge in Athens? Are you concerned about how a drunk driving conviction could affect your license, employment, or educational opportunities? If so, contact Athens criminal defense lawyer J. Lee Webb today for experienced legal help today.
Once charged, you are probably concerned not only with the immediate potential penalties, but also the long-term impact of a DUI conviction. You may be wondering, "Will I lose my job? Will I go to jail? Is this is a felony charge? Could I face school expulsion?" The answers to these questions depend on whether you are convicted of a DUI. If convicted, you could face both legal and social penalties.
Call (706) 705-5122 to get answers from an experienced Athens DUI defense lawyer. We offer free consultations and affordable payment plans!
What Counts as Driving Under the Influence in Georgia?
In Georgia, there are several different ways to charge someone with DUI, and often, more than one DUI charge is brought at a time. One type of charge is a "per se" violation. This simply means that the offender is driving over the legal limit of .08. Another possible charge is "less safe". This means the suspect is for driving under the influence to the extent that he is less safe to drive. This can be alcohol or drugs (legal prescriptions or illegal). Paints, glues or inhalants are also possibilities. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you should consult with a lawyer who understands the complexities of marijuana and drug defense, as well as alcohol-related DUIs.
Penalties For A DUI In Athens
State law establishes different penalties for each DUI conviction. That is, with each subsequent conviction, the potential legal penalties increase. The specifics of your case, as well as any prior DUI convictions, will determine how aggressive the prosecutor is in seeking a conviction and punishment.
- First Offense: 24 hours to one year in jail; $300-$1,000 fine; up to one year driver's license suspension; minimum of 40 hours community service and DUI school
- Second Offense: three days to one year in jail; $600-$1,000 fine; minimum of 240 hours community service; (if 2nd in a 5 year period) up to three years driver's license suspension; possible requirement for installation an ignition interlock vehicle device; loose the tags to any cars owned; picture in the paper
- Third Offense: 15 days to one year in jail; $1,000-$5,000 fine; up to five years driver's license suspension; mandatory installation of an ignition interlock vehicle device
Drivers under the age of 21 may face additional charges related to alcohol possession. If police find evidence that you consumed alcohol, you could face an M.I.P. (minor in possession) charge. These separate charges could also lead to serious legal penalties upon conviction.
If convicted of a DUI, even for a first offense, you will quickly learn that legal penalties are not the only negative consequences you may encounter. A criminal conviction could result in losing your job, or having trouble finding employment in the future. For students, a conviction may lead to a loss of your H.O.P.E. scholarship.
Call An Experienced Athens DUI Defense Lawyer Today
Georgia DUI lawyer J. Lee Webb has dedicated his entire career to defending those accused of a crime. He believes that everyone is entitled to a strong legal defense, and will stop at nothing to ensure that is exactly what his client receives. For years, J. Lee Webb has helped clients through even the most complex DUI cases. His uniquely professional and empathetic approach has earned Mr. Webb recognition as one of the Top Attorneys in Georgia by Super Lawyers. Contact Attorney Webb today, and discuss your DUI case with an experienced and highly skilled Athens defense lawyer.
For more on DUIs, visit the following pages:
- 30-Day License Suspension Letter
- ATV DUI
- Breathalyzer Test
- Dealing With DUI Incidentals
- Drug DUI
- DUI License Suspension
- Finding A DUI Lawyer
- Gathering DUI Evidence
- Prescription Drugs DUI
- How To Get Your DUI Reduced To Reckless Driving
- Minor in Possession of Alcohol Lawyer
- Underage DUI
- Vehicular Homicide DUI
Our firm works with clients to help set up affordable payment plans. Set up a free case evaluation by calling (706) 705-5122.