Third DUI Charge in Georgia
Athens DUI Defense Lawyer
A third arrest for DUI in Athens is likely to result in very serious consequences, and alter your life and the lives of your loved ones. It is very important to have a forceful and compassionate Athens criminal defense attorney on your side as soon as possible, who can fight for your rights and aggressively defend your case.
Reach out to the Law Offices of J. Lee Webb as soon as possible. Call us at (706) 705-5122.
Driving Restrictions for a 3rd DUI
There are two types of penalties you will be forced to deal with if convicted of a third DUI; administrative penalties and criminal penalties. Your driver’s license will be automatically revoked. You will be given a temporary 30-day driving permit, but once that expires, you will lose your license for a minimum period of five years. If you do meet the necessary requirements after two years, you can apply for a probationary license, but there is no guarantee you will be granted one.
To be clear, you will not be allowed to drive under any circumstances for 24 months. After that, you may be able to have a probationary license to drive to and from work and other court approved places. Even if that is granted, you will need to have an ignition interlock put on any vehicle you own. An ignition interlock is a device that works like a breathalyzer test, and does not allow the car to start if you blow over the legal limit.
Penalties For A 3rd DUI Charge In Athens
If your conviction of a 3rd DUI is within 10 years of the first two convictions, you will be facing serious punishment. There is a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 15 days in Georgia for a third DUI offense. The judge has discretion to increase that sentence to anywhere between 30 days and one year of jail time, depending on the circumstances of your arrest. You may also be ordered to perform a month of community service (240 hours) and complete an alcohol rehabilitation program.
Although a third DUI conviction is still a misdemeanor under Georgia law, it is considered a “high and aggravated” misdemeanor. This is far more serious than a regular misdemeanor and if you are arrested for a fourth time, you will be charged with a felony.
Athens DUI Defense Lawyer J. Lee Webb Can Help You
Athens DUI Defense Attorney J. Lee Webb focuses his practice solely on criminal defense, and in particular DUI defense. He is the coauthor of the Georgia DUI Trial Practice Manual, and gives frequent speeches on drunk driving and defending DUI cases in Athens at legal conferences throughout the state of Georgia. If you are facing a third DUI charge, Mr. Webb is ready to help you. He can help you fight the charges; and if you happen to attend the University of Georgia, he can help ensure the penalties are as reasonable as possible.
Whether it is your first offense, second offense, or third or subsequent offense, Athens DUI defense lawyer J. Lee Webb, if hired, can zealously defend your rights and help you through this horrible time. Call (706) 705-5122 today.