Second DUI Charge in Georgia
DUI Defense Attorney in Athens
A second arrest for a DUI in Athens can result in serious consequences. It is crucial for you to have an experienced Athens DUI defense attorney on your side from the very beginning, to help you navigate these treacherous waters.
For experienced help dealing with DUI charges, call (706) 705-5122.
Penalties For A 2nd DUI In Athens, GA
If you are arrested and convicted a second time for DUI, it is still a misdemeanor offense. However, the courts and prosecutors will treat this new offense much more harshly than the first. Often, the plead offers are outrageous, and the only choice is to fight the charges. A knowledgeable, experienced lawyer is crucial.
Georgia’s statutory scheme deals in 10 year increments for punishment, so there are minimum requirements, set by law, if you plead guilty. The 10 years is calculated from the date of arrest for the first DUI to the arrest date of the second. The criminal penalties in Georgia are severe for a second DUI conviction. There is a mandatory minimum jail sentence of between 10 days and one year. The 10 day minimum can, at times, be probated down to 72 hours. Unless the case is reduced or won, there are no circumstances under which you will not be required to spend at least three days in jail.
Other DUI penalties include:
- A fine between $600 and $1000
- 240 hours community services (8 hours a day for 30 days)
- $25 dollar fine to have your picture published in the paper
- Forfeiture of license plates on all of your cars
- Attendance at a mandatory DUI school
- Participating in an alcohol and drug evaluation
- 17 weeks of substance abuse treatment
- An ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle
If you are convicted for a second DUI within 10 years, your driver’s license will be suspended for 1 year. You may or may not be eligible for limited permits.
If you are convicted of a second DUI within 5 years, then your license will be automatically suspended for three years. Early reinstatement is possible after 1 year of suspension in some circumstances. No limited permits (work permits) are available. In some unique situations, a limited permit may be available after 120 days of hard suspension.
These suspensions for a conviction are separate and distinct from Administrative suspensions. We can help you request an administrative hearing in this situation, but it must be made within 10 days of your arrest. The 10 days are calculated as business days, so Saturday and Sunday (or recognized holidays) don’t count. This potential suspension can last from 30 days to 1 year and limited permits may or may not be available.
Suspensions are a complicated issue. The length of suspension varies based on several factors, and sometimes driving permits are available.
Athens DUI Lawyer
Whether it is your first offense, second offense, third offense, or you need help as a student at the University of Georgia, Athens DUI defense lawyer J. Lee Webb can help you. Mr. Webb has such wide-ranging experience in this area that he gives frequent speeches on drunk driving and defending DUI at legal conferences throughout the state of Georgia.
Call the Law Offices of J. Lee Webb today at (706) 705-5122 for help with your case.