First Time DUI Charges
Athens DUI Defense Lawyer
Being charged with driving under the influence (“DUI”) is a very scary experience, and has potentially life altering consequences. If you have been charged with DUI, you need an experienced and passionate Athens criminal defense attorney who will fight to get the charges dropped, reduced, or win a trial.
Do not wait to start planning your DUI defense. Call (706) 705-5122 today.
Penalties For A 1st Time DUI In Athens
A conviction for a first time DUI in Georgia means you will spend a minimum of 24 hours in jail, but it can be higher. You will also have your license suspended. The suspension is for 1 year, but if you are over 21 years old, it is possible to have your license reinstated after 120 days by agreeing to take certain state-mandated courses on alcohol safety.
1st time DUI penalties could include:
- Up to 1 year license suspension
- License reinstatement fees
- A 20 hour risk reduction course
- Heavy DUI fines
- Community service
Additionally, a conviction for a first DUI offense will influence the charges and sentencing brought against you for a subsequent offense, for up to ten years.
Last, it can lead to other Issues if you attend the University of Georgia, or any of the surrounding colleges.
Athens DUI Defense Lawyer J. Lee Webb Can Help You
What you might not be aware of is that under certain circumstances, your first time DUI charge can be reduced to a reckless driving charge. Athens DUI defense lawyer J. Lee Webb stands ready to help have Dui charges dismissed or reduced to a reckless driving charge or another non-DUI offense. In Georgia, the law allows the prosecutor to reduce DUI charges.
Reduction of DUI charges to a reckless driving charge is more likely if it is your first offense. It is imperative that you enter a not guilty plea to preserve your right to have the charges reduced to reckless driving. It is worth your while to see if this option is possible for you, as future employers will be much less hesitant to hire someone with a reckless driving conviction than a drunk driving conviction. Additionally, the punishment for reckless driving can be lower than those for DUI. If you are convicted or plead to reckless driving, there is no statutory punishment required. The law allows for zero fines up to $1000.00. Of course, the Judge can impose additional requirements. Importantly, there is no license suspension with a reckless driving charge, and if your license has been administratively suspended, it will be reinstated.
We understand both the procedure of drug & alcohol tests, and the science behind them
Attorney Webb has earned numerous awards for his standard of excellence.
Clients receive Attorney Webb's personal cell phone & email address.
We have over 25 years of legal experience.
I scheduled a consultation with Mr. Webb and within 5 minutes of the consult and giving my statement to my case I felt comfortable and confident.- Criminal Defense Client
Lee did an amazing job on my case. He asked me to walk through all of the details of what had happened and then studied the police reports in great detail. Once we went to court it was clear from the beginning that the judges and prosecutors really respect- Kevin W. / DUI Client
This was a first-time DUI (0.08), first-ever offense of any sort. I was referred to Lee by a lawyer friend. Lee and Alisa (his assistant) did an outstanding job of guiding me through the process from first contact all the way through trial (that never occu- DUI Client